The Last Place You Would Look

Taxes are coming up. We all dread them. This year I was going to file my own taxes with my Dad’s help. So I get all my tax info together and give it to him. He was not quite ready, so he set it in a pile on the kitchen counter.

A couple of days went by, and there was some apparent misinformation. He thought I was going to take care of the pile, and I thought he was going to take care of the pile. Neither of us did anything with it, and it soon vanished!

Once I knew it was missing, I panicked. I searched my room three times, completely disassembling it. We checked every pile in the house, from school books to magazines to junk drawers. We got really desperate and went through the entire week’s garbage (gross). We found clues that led us to believe they were in the house somewhere. My greatest fear was that my tax information had been used as fire-starter.

We had just about given up the hunt (my family had been scouring the couch cushions and bedrooms), when my Mom finally suggested I look in one last place: her cook book. She mentioned that she occasionally closed it up without looking to see if something had become part of the overflowing binder full of recipes.

My dad started going through the cook book while I looked in the last, remote areas of the house where no one ever ventures. Just as I had given up, Dad exclaimed that he had found it!

Just as my mother had said, it was tucked inside her cook book on the very LAST page.

So remember, if you ever lose important paperwork or homework, check the cook book.

This entry was posted in Side-notes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.